Sourdough update

Today I made a few variations on the basic sourdough recipe that I posted last night, and just in case you have decided that sourdough baking is going to be your thing I thought I’d share them with you.

149

Wholemeal: substitute 1/3 of the plain breadmaking flour for wholemeal (preferably strong breadmaking flour) and use the wholemeal flour to dust the bench when you are kneading. You could use more wholemeal, but I like my loaves to remain light-I have found previously that baking with wholemeal can make bread a little heavy.

Light Rye: susbsitute  1/3 of the plain flour with rye flour. This also keeps the loaf nice and light, not dense and heavy.

Fruitloaf: Use only 1/2 the amount of salt for the quantity of bread you are making. Dissolve 50 grams of golden syrup in the water with the salt, and add 2 teaspoons of cinnamon to the flour before mixing the dough together. After the first rising, flatten the dough into a round shape (not too thin-maybe 2 cm thick) with your fingers. Then scatter your desired quantity and type of dried fruit over the dough-avoiding the area about 0.5 cm from the edges. Roll the dough up and pinch and taper the ends to give you a nice loaf shape. This works better than kneading the fruit through because you don’t get fruit sticking out through the outside crust, where it just gets burnt and yucky.

So what fruit did I use? Well, I discovered at the very last minute that all I had was currants-so I used about 2 tablespoons in each loaf. What I really wanted was some juicy raisins or sultanas…you might be more organised than I am.

Hope you all become sourdough converts too!

~ by Little Red Hen on July 22, 2009.

2 Responses to “Sourdough update”

  1. Ah, so gorgeous…I keep meaning to say, i want to buy you the advanced sourdough course at Brasserie Bread. Think you’ll like it.
    I also nominated you for an award: http://www.tummyrumble.net/2009/07/the-kreativ-blogger-award/

Leave a Reply

 
