Whatever you do, DON’T GET IN THE CAR!

Rainy Saturday afternoon. Mr Hen is watching The Godfather (hence the title of this post-seems if you get into a car with The Mob you’ll end up sleeping with the fishes…) And Little D is hanging out in her playpen, experimenting with her new-found squealing voice. Finally, a bit of time for me to do some cooking. Where has the time been going lately?

005

Mr Hen calls this Zombie Baby. Braaains!...As you can see, if you are a pumpkin, then yes, you're in a lot of trouble.

We’re rapidly finding out that getting things done takes a lot more time as the months go by. Life is a lot more fun as a trio, of course. But it is getting a bit (er-lot) harder to find time to squeeze in the fun projects at the moment.

So here’s one I’ve been wanting to try for a while but haven’t had the chance. Lemon tart. Oh, delicious.

Cue Pavlovian response to the mention of lemon tart.*drool*

Cue Pavlovian response to the mention of lemon tart.*drool*

I love love LOVE lemon tart but it is very much like the story of the little girl with the curl in the middle of her forehead-when it is good, it is very, very good. But when it is bad-well, it really is horrid. And a lot of the time, what is passed off as lemon tart is certainly in the latter category. (shudder)

I spied this recipe in the last couple of months of my pregnancy with Little D, but due to never-ending morning sickness, making it back then was completely out of the question. So I filed it away and finally got the chance (and a severe hankering for lemon tart) to make it this arvo. Woohoo!!  The other reason for making it now? My little lemon tree has been hard at work, and as my Grandma would say “we have an elegant sufficiency” of lemons at the treehouse en ce moment.022

The recipe comes from Nikkishell. I have been reading this blog for a while, and Nichola writes about a lot of things that I find interesting-crafting and sewing, cooking, living simply, life with small children…I am especially fond of some posts she did a while ago about making play food for kids-there are some fantastic felt sausages, ravioli and a cute donut which impressed me no end. I used to love playing shops and imaginary games like that when I was little and I’m looking forward to figuring out fun props for playing with Little D when she is a bit bigger.

You should really pop on over there and have a look and make yourself a lemon tart!

You do need quite a few lemons to get the 300ml of juice...Luckily, I have heaps.

You do need quite a few lemons to get the 300ml of juice. These I have.

I usually find pastry-making offputting-but this one is easy...

I usually find pastry-making offputting-but this one is easy...

...and any pastry left after you make your beautiful pastry shell...

...and any pastry left after you make your beautiful pastry shell...

...makes great biccies to sustain you while you wait for the tart to cook. Phew!

...makes great biccies to sustain you while you wait for the tart to cook. Phew!

Tadaa!

Tadaa!

Nomnomnomnomnom.

~ by Little Red Hen on June 22, 2009.

2 Responses to “Whatever you do, DON’T GET IN THE CAR!”

  1. omigod! Yum, and I love the biccies! What did you eat them with?

    • We ate them with our mouths. While standing up in the kitchen. While we were skulking around the oven. Waiting for the tart. Patient, aren’t we?!?

Leave a Reply

 
