Going, going, gone

Well, it was a productive weekend at the treehouse, kitchen-wise. Lots of planned projects were started, finished off, or in the best cases, both! We’ve just had a solid week of heavy rain, and that was a good opportunity to stay inside, rest up a little, and plan what to do when there are two people around to keep Little D occupied.

Productivity is also up thanks to a big effort by Mr Hen to help me have some time to recharge my batteries-I got my hair cut AND had my Mothers Day massage. Woo. Hoo!  I feel like quite the Spring Chicken as a result.

So I have quite a few recipes to post in the next little while…

First up, we felt like some treats to start the weekend. I am usually of the opinion that most cake is really just a vehicle for the icing-‘naked’ cake, by itself, is not usually something I would find very appealing. The exceptions that immediately spring to mind are good fruit cakes, banana cake, um…anyway, I certainly wouldn’t usually go for the idea of chocolate cake without icing, but this recipe is GOOD! Moist, not too stodgy or rich, keeps well for a few days. That is, if you can stay away from it to make it last! And of course you could ice it, if you really wanted to.

021

022

023

Ingredients:

200g dark chocolate, broken into pieces

175g  butter

175g caster sugar

4 eggs

1 cup SR flour, sifted

100g almond meal

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 cup milk

Heat oven to 160 degrees C, grease and line your cake tin. Melt the chocolate on low heat in the microwave (or on the stove in a double-boiler if that is the way you prefer).

Cream the butter and sugar, then add the eggs and beat until well incorporated. Then stir in the dry ingredients, the milk and the chocolate.

Bake for 45-50 minutes (mine actually took almost an hour and was still lovely and fudgy on the bottom.)

The sewing machines are still off having their R&R so the orange leather bag is on ice for the moment. Next up I’ll fill you in on the  bread-making festival that started here over the weekend. My San Francisco Sourdough starter is bubbling along very happily for the moment.

~ by Little Red Hen on May 25, 2009.

4 Responses to “Going, going, gone”

  1. A-ha! the chocolate cake! I have my eye on you!

  2. mmm, I can even see the lovely fudgyness in the photos – yum! Keep the recipes coming please!

Leave a Reply

 
