What a difference…3 days makes

Yo. We’ve been quite busy at the treehouse. But not with handmade projects. Well, kind of-we’ve been home-growing teeth! Two to be exact. Little D is now sporting two little pearly pegs in her bottom jaw. They are a cute accompaniment to the wild grinning and laughter (and arm flapping) that seems to accompany the-almost-6 month stage. But they are a little bit sharp for breastfeeding. Yikes! And they caused a bit of a stir here for a couple of days while they were making their entrance. So no dice on the marmalade as yet.I feel a big cook-up coming on today and tomorrow though. Now I just have to organise some vessels for said condiment…I’m outta jars!

I HAVE been able to make some progress on my latest sewing project though. This in spite of the fact that my sewing machine and overlocker went for a little holiday to the machine hospital this week-well deserved, its been a while since they had a service. And yes, I should have done it while I had a newborn and no time to sew, but I was a bit distracted, remember? Anyway, I did manage to get a start on my new bag-the uber nappy/non-nappy bag which I have planned since I became a mum and realised exactly what I need in a bag that is perfectly functional for moi.

some planning

some planning

When my mum was visiting for the April wedding bonanza a few weeks ago, I took her to my favourite leather supplies shop to have a little look-see. She very kindly bought me a piece of beautiful suede, a lovely burnt orange colour. Kind of bright, but kind of…not. Poifeck! I dithered around over it for a week or two, and made some sketches of the kind of bag I wanted, what ‘features’ it needed to have, trying to figure out the best dimensions for pockets, handles etc while being realistic. (When you buy a piece of leather you have to check it for natural bangs and dings and other marks, then figure out your cutting based on that. Sometimes you have to shrink your plans to fit.)

I ended up making some fast decisions and just cutting the darn thing out quite quickly one afternoon while Little D was having a rare hour-long snooze. This is the positive aspect of suddenly having less time for projects. I am getting better at making quick decisions and just doing whatever it is I want/need to do as efficiently as I can. Which can only be good for me really. I can’t believe how much time I used to spend deliberating over things. I still do a lot of thinking and pre-planning in my head. But quickly-in the shower, hanging the washing…you get the picture.

So here are some pics of the progress thus far. I have a back-up sewing machine which I recently bought second-hand from a lovely friend, but until now it has been staying with someone else while her machine was also off being repaired. So I am going to try to figure it out (it can take a while to get confident with a new machine) this week to hopefully get the bag nearly-if not totally-finished. And if that is not going to happen I have quite a few projects to cut out for boring-but-necessary sewing. More denim for jeans. That sort of thing. In fact, having a reason not to sew and just concentrate on preparation could be an excellent motivator, so that when my machine comes back I will be off like a rocket.

016

a non-stretch denim core to pad the shoulder strap. those little craft pegs are very handy when you are gluing things and don't have 25 fingers to hold it all together.

gluing the pieces for the front pocket

gluing the pieces for the front pocket

more gluing-the strap-holder and a keyring loop. whiat did i tell you about those naff little craft pegs? genius!

more gluing. this time it's the strap-holder and a keyring loop. what did I tell you about those naff little craft pegs? genius!

the suede and lining. it looks crazy in the pic but I think good in real life. you'll just have to trust me on this one.

the suede and lining. it looks a tad crazy in the pic but cool in real life. you'll just have to trust me on this one.

an internal pocket. yes, it is elasticised. I've learned the hard way about suck things. again, you'll have to trust me on this one.

an internal pocket. yes, it is elasticised. I've learned the hard way about such things. again, you'll have to trust me.

~ by Little Red Hen on May 20, 2009.

One Response to “What a difference…3 days makes”

  1. oooh, looks like it’s going to be one sexy bag!

Leave a Reply

 
