It’s almost time…

for marmalade-check out the cumquat tree this year! I just have to beat my little possum pals to them.

0251

026

For a citrus-y hit in the meantime, and since today is Mothers Group day, I tried Capezzana Tiny Olive Oil Cakes from Nancy Silverton’s Pastries from the La Brea Bakery.

‘Tell me how?!?’ I hear you say. Okay okay, keep your shirt on-and keep reading…

Preheat oven to 175 degrees celcius

2 cups plus 2 tbsp unbleached pastry flour (errrr-I used plain flour)

1 1/2 cups granulated sugar (I used caster)

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

3 extra-large eggs

1 1/2 cups whole milk

1 1/2 cups extra-virgin olive oil (according to Nancy: the better the oil, the better the cake. I did use extra-light rather than extra-virgin. Umm-ahh)

3 tbsp grated orange zest-about 2-3 oranges (I used lemon as that’s what I had)

Sift the dry ingredients to combine them in a large bowl. Make a well in the centre and add the eggs, milk and oil. Whisk to combine and draw in the dry ingredients and avoid lumps. Stir in the zest.

Pour the batter into1/4 cup tartlet moulds (I used friand moulds) and bake for 25-30 minutes until nicely browned and firm to the touch.

017*These are lovely and crispy on the outside like fresh friands, but with olive oil instead of butter, have way less saturated fat.

~ by Little Red Hen on April 7, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
